Posted in Writing

The Great (and Awful) Thing About Writing

You know what one of the great things about writing is?

It’s so subjective.

You know what one of the awful things about writing is?

It’s so subjective.

When I think about it, English teachers have it hard, because they’re the ones who have to grade that subjective material. Most of the time I guess it can be a little bit easier nowadays when most of us don’t even know “how to English,” but for the kids who do write decently, teachers can’t just give them 100% because they have a better grasp of the exceptional rules of the fickle English language. (Get it? “Exceptional” because, like, there are a lot of exceptions….. alright I know it doesn’t work that way stop judging me.)

Okay, but here’s the thing: because writing is subjective, you don’t even need to be a “good writer” to write. Right? Because regardless of how awful you think your writing might be, someone else in the world is bound to think it’s a work of genius. Therefore, you’ve got yourself at least one good reason to write; even if you as the author think your piece is garbage, someone else will probably like it.

On the other hand, writing is subjective, and you don’t need to be a “good writer” to write – so why should the good writers even bother? Fortunately, English grammar and punctuation are pretty straightforward and grade-able. But what about things like flow, style, characterization? One English professor will think that a piece of writing should be put in the shredder; another will give it full marks. One professor wonders why a classic is a classic at all; another feels that it deserves to last through the ages.

Dear world, I have a confession to make: I believe I’m at least a decent writer. (But then, I suppose if someone didn’t think they were at least alright at writing, they would avoid it like the plague.) I’m the kind of person who stares endlessly at the typo in a book, pitying the editor for missing it. (I mean, I also know how it feels to find a mistake while reading a printed book that you edited; you kick yourself in the shin for it forever afterwards, which is totally an amazing feeling, as you would guess.) And yeah, as you can probably see, I had one of those why-do-I-even-try moments where I realized writing is so subjective that a lot of people don’t really care whether you write “well” or not. (I also recently had an “I vow to overuse parentheses” moment, hence this paragraph.)

Anyway, here’s my point: I don’t have a point. I just kind of wanted to waste your time to see how you would react to this post.

Thanks for reading!

Just kidding. I randomly wanted to do that, so I went with it because I am an immature young adult. *peace sign*

Alright, but really, this is my conclusion: self-proclaimed good writers, try to write the best that you can for yourself. Other people may not care or notice or be able to tell the difference, but if you can’t satisfy other people, at least satisfy yourself with the knowledge that you put everything you had into your piece. If people like it, fine; if they don’t, fine, because you’re writing for the sake of writing, not for the sake of their judgement.

Writing is subjective. Give it your all in any case.

Author:

I'm just a kid in the big, wide world, trying to find my way through life by clinging to the hope of something better.

10 thoughts on “The Great (and Awful) Thing About Writing

  1. Y’know, I never really thought of that consciously, but now that I do, I realize that this is true. XD Especially about some people loving your writing, and others hating it. <3 Maybe, you will never say something that I, like, disagree with. (that was my attempt at using the most commas as possible :D )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so true about writing being subjective! Some people will talk about how much they love your work and others will hate it, though oftentimes this “hatred” can be related to plot choices, if not writing style. Ugh. On a random note, I do think you are a good writer (subjective statement for you right there. Lol). Seriously, though.

    Like

    1. True too haha. Thanks! And referring to plot choices, you mean like, *cough* killing characters off *cough* right? XDDD You’re a good writer too… seriously like when I was 14 my writing was awful hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol, I actually only just turned 15. *cough* lol. Yeah, killing off characters is always a touchy subject. Lol. Pet Peeve of mine? When the mentor character is killed. Seriously! Gandalf, Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon, Dumbledore, need I go on?!

        Like

      2. Psht okay xD What, it’s like a classic move to kill of the mentor characters; it’s like one of the criteria for making a good story, right?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yup. Its one of the rules of fantasy writing: Kill the mentor. xD Another rule of fantasy writing is to make everything far more difficult than it needs to be. Example: If Gandalf has 24/7 access to eagles, why didn’t he just call them up and fly Frodo to Mount Doom and drop the ring in instead of sending him on a quest that took 3 books and 12 hours of film time?

        Liked by 2 people

      4. YES! Because you HAVE to make it more complicated otherwise these great stories won’t exist. Haha. It’s hard to get rid of all the plot holes :b

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yes! That is so true! Lol, it really is. Just going through some of the plots kills me. LOTR is only one example. Lol. Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, you name it. Every series has plot holes.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah yes. This is why I go insane when my papers are graded – for the ones I’m most proud of and love and feel the emotion, they are given a worse mark, and the boring, I was half asleep, but I needed to get this in by tonight ones get better grades. It’s madness. It makes me genuinely laugh. I also have the need to kick a wall at times. XD

    You’re the greatest Lissy, I literally love reading all your random writings. Don’t stop. :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

