Posted in Hehe, Poetry, Writing, Writing Tips

Worst Words for Poetry

Did you guys know that there are just some words that don’t fit into poetry? Ever? No matter how you use them?

I mean, I guess if you were a genius like Shakespeare or something, you could find a way. But otherwise, some words really just don’t. Ever. Go. Into. Poems.

Take, for example, the sound of braille poem. We had to use words like “bubbles”…”balloons”…”elephant“?

You know, I take the title of this post back. I think there’s really just one big word that’s the worst for poetry. That’s elephant. How do you include a word like that without being completely random, unless you’re writing about Thailand, African safaris, or an elephant? Those things are just too big to fit into any poem. Plus, they’re too random. How’d you feel if you suddenly read a reference about a hippo in Shakespeare’s “Sonnet 71” or something?

…Nay, if you read this line, remember not

The hand that writ it; for I love you so

That I in your sweet thoughts would be forgot

If thinking on me then should [slay hippos]…

Wow. That’s so powerful. If it made sense, that would be even more amazing.

Funnily enough, you’d think words like “balloons” or “bubbles” wouldn’t fit seriously into poetry, but I guess you can get more creative with those than you can an elephant. You can at least get somewhat philosophical about a balloon. You know, something like,

Above the world shall I now glide

Without a thought to the troubles below

And none to care if ever I died

Above the darkened clouds of woe.

As for bubbles, you can always say, “the dark bubbles rose slowly from the deep waters,” instead of something like, “I love how rainbowy and colorful these awesome little bubbles are. pop.”

Another terrible word for poetry is potato. Much as I love the word, I just don’t see how you can incorporate it delicately or poetically in any way, shape, or form. Even the word “leech” would work better, especially for dramatic poems, as something could “suck the life as would a leech” XD

And, finally, noodles is another thing that I love but can’t see in a serious poem. They’re delicious and fantastic and all, but they’re not exactly the romantic stuff of classic, beautiful poetry. They’re just too random.

If you can find a way to incorporate the words “elephant,” “potato,” or “noodles” nicely into a legit, serious poem, let me know. I’d love to see how it works :P

Author:

I'm just a kid in the big, wide world, trying to find my way through life by clinging to the hope of something better.

3 thoughts on “Worst Words for Poetry

Leave a Reply

