Posted in Completely Random!!, Poetry, Writing

Ex-CW15: The Sound of Braille

Yup. I did what this week’s Creative Writing Assignment suggested. I wrote my assignment in poem form. The only problem?

The word count standard is 800-1500 words.

….That would make a really…. really…. really long poem.

But hey, thanks for the suggestion anyhow, ’cause I rolled with it, and when I was 95% done I realized I couldn’t possibly make a single poem last at least 800 words without making everybody hate me, including myself. So, yay! I get to write another CW15 (which you can read here), because this one won’t work due to serious word shortage. But I figured I might as well post my poem here anyway, since I probably spent a whole fifteen minutes on it. *gasp*

Here we are. This week’s assignment was to incorporate the following list of words (which we came up with in class) into a creative piece about anything except a zoo, which was what the words are supposed to be related to. Here’s the list:

path          bubbles          lamppost          riot          balloons          dragon          water          elephant          death          exotic          feathers          trespassers          braille          animal

And here’s what I came up with.


the sound of braille

why

can i not think

Like the rest of them

                          they think

                          I am nothing

                         when i only Feel

the sound of braille

            the joy of death

                         the loneliness of the Exotic

In a world

where an elephant

is tamed by a String

                            so am i

                            Like an animal caged

                            by expectations

because I Know

              the weight of feathers

                             when a heart is torn

                                       by trespassers.

i know

           the pain of a dragon

                               petrified by water

                                         when the sky

                                                      should be its path

fate chooses favorites

while the chosen live in bubbles

we riot to no avail

      under the dark lamppost

                     of a modern age

                                 that sheds poison in our minds

                                               to slowly End us

balloons find freedom To die

Humans find love to cry

and I

               will never fit in

                           because i only know

                                             the Sound of braille.

life is like this.


This is from the perspective of someone who just thinks differently, whether they be “mentally retarded” or just different from others. The spacing is a bit messed up from the original because copying it into a post didn’t retain my formatting.

Author:

I'm just a kid in the big, wide world, trying to find my way through life by clinging to the hope of something better.

5 thoughts on “Ex-CW15: The Sound of Braille

  1. Reblogged this on Shadows and commented:
    When you have ridiculously talented peers you just about weep when you read their stuff because it’s so impressive. Holy cheetos, Lissy! To say I’m wowed would be an understatement. You took the impossible and transformed it like a true poet. Kudos to you, girl! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the perspective!

    Like

Leave a Reply

