Posted in Completely Random!!

I’ll Be Back… I Am Back

Hi there! I’m back finally, like the bad blogger I clearly am. This is only supposed to be for school though, right? And we’re on Christmas break, right? So I have an excuse not to post, right?

Right.

But here I am anyway, because I don’t have much else to do besides this. So, I’m back! (Anyone get the 2PM/Terminator reference?)

And I just wanted to say, lately I’ve been really low on writing juices, as you’ve probably noticed by the drop of quality in my writing. Maybe it’s because I’ve been writing too much, or reading too little, or been too busy, or a mix of the three, but lately I’ve been losing some of the joy of just writing. It always fascinated me how I could make people feel things by just putting these letters into a certain sequence, but the past month or so I’ve been too tired and rushed to think about it.

Now, though, I’ve gotten to reading a great book by Erich Maria Remarque. Its English translation is All Quiet on the Western Front, though it was originally published in German (Im Westen nichts Neues, literally “In the West, nothing is new”) . I discovered it when I was writing Joyeux Weihnachten because I was doing research on World War I. So I borrowed it from our sad little library here, and now I’ve been reading it, and it’s amazing… even if the translation might make it a bit hard to read sometimes.

But I’ve been learning, like my old English teacher said, that you need to fill the well before you can draw from it. I’m reading now to fill up my empty well of literature, so hopefully by the end of break, I’ll be all pumped up and ready to start working on those several novels I’ve left yet unfinished XD

Moral of the story? Reading is just as important as writing for anyone who writes.

Great! If you’re a tired writer, then, take a break and go read All Quiet on the Western Front. You won’t be disappointed. (Just don’t make the mistake of googling it or anything before you read it; spoilers await you at every corner.)

Well then, I’ll be back. *thumb up*

Author:

I'm just a kid in the big, wide world, trying to find my way through life by clinging to the hope of something better.

Leave a Reply

